top of page

Critical Reflection on the Module of Effective Communication

In the first few weeks of this Effective Communication module, I set a goal for myself to improve my English in terms of writing or speaking. English had never been my strong subject and I have no confidence in it. Thankfully after taking this module, it gave me a significant confidence boost that I can improve my English.

The module had made me realize that it is very important to be competent in writing because common means of communication like emails will define how you actually portray yourself to others. Writing has always been my fear because I used to have the mindset that a sentence should sound correct instead of being grammatically right. Beating around the bush while explaining my point was also my weakness and that creates many redundancies in my writing. Thankfully, through feedback and evaluation from Brad and my fellow classmates, I feel that I have managed to improve my writing skills.

As for oral presentations, I have the perception that it is very easy to speak as long as you are confident. Back when I was in polytechnic, I was guilty for not preparing for any of my presentations because I believed that with visual aids, I could merely read off the content from the slides. When it comes to actual presentations, I would be struck with contents that I have never seen before. This resulted in using fillers hoping to “speed up” my part of the presentation. However, in the recent presentation, I made the effort to rehearse my presentation without referring to the slides. I even tried a new approach of asking questions to my audience. Through this module, I learnt that presentation can be done through different interesting methods instead of being “traditional”.

To conclude, I am happy to be able to take away something from this module and I will continue to work hard to improve my command of the language. It had been a valuable 10 weeks. Thank you Brad and Group 5! :)

bottom of page