top of page

Formal Self-Introduction Letter

To: Professor Brad Blackstone

Senior Lecturer

Centre for Communication Skills

Singapore Institute of Technology @ Dover

10 Dover Drive

Singapore 138683

Date: 07 September 2017

Subject: Formal Self-Introduction Letter to Lecturer

Dear Professor Blackstone,

My name is Khoo Nee Kong, and the purpose of this letter is to introduce myself as a student to you in your Effective Communication class. I am a graduate from Ngee Ann Polytechnic in the year of 2015, having pursued a diploma in hotel and leisure facilities management. The reason why I chose to further my studies in the sustainable infrastructure engineering (Building Services) degree programme was mainly due to the influence from the internship programme in polytechnic. Contrary to my diploma, I was being placed in the engineering department during my internship programme at Hotel Jen, Orchardgateway. During my stint at the hotel, my interest for engineering grew progressively by the mentorship from my superiors. They taught me the importance the engineering department plays for the whole operation of the hotel.

My goal for this module, is to hope that I can improve my communication ability be it in the form of writing or speech. I strongly believe that without good command of language, it will be very difficult for me to grow in the industry. Not only do I have to be proficient in technical skills, but I must also be able to convey my message to different groups of people in a clear and concise manner.

A strength of mine in communication, is that I am a confident speaker. However, I have also constantly sought advices from my peers to change for the better. I am willing to take any comments for self-improvements and take charge of my learnings. Staying mission-focused has always been one of my principles and I am relishing it to refine my communication skills. Through my tours in the various education institute as well as the army, I am fortunate to have many opportunities to speak to groups of people.

With strengths comes weaknesses. As compared to my ability to speak, I am very weak in writing. My incapability to organise my thoughts clearly poses a problem for my writing, and sometimes in my speech. For instance, this simple letter is already cracking me up as I am unsure of what to and not to input.

I strongly believe that I can improve for the better if I put in the extra effort. Therefore, I look forward to attending your classes and learn more about effective communication from you.

Best Regards,

Khoo Nee Kong

SIE2016 Group 05

Edited: 13/9/17

20/9/17

Commented:

Claudia

Keric

Cheron

bottom of page